ONA 2003 Conference and Awards Banquet
Site sponsor: MSNBC.com ONA 2003 Conference and Awards Banquet, Chicago

Will Sullivan photo
ESPN.com editor-in-chief Neal Scarbrough accepts the award from Michael Parks, director of the USC Annenberg School of Journalism.
ESPN.com, BeliefNet, CQ.com and the Gotham Gazette earned Online Journalism Awards for general excellence in their respective categories Saturday night.

  • Video interviews with award winners <!--
  • OJA finalists -->

  • "The op-ed column is a dinosaur as a genre," blogger and former magazine editor Andrew Sullivan told conference attendees Saturday. "I think that in the future, newspaper editorial pages will have five bloggers rather than five columnists."

    Weaning audiences off of free content will be difficult but necessary, the president of Tribune Publishing told the nation's leading online journalists Friday. "Most everybody will eventually move to a model that is -- at least in part -- paid for by the reader," Jack Fuller said in the opening keynote.

    More news
    Produced with OnlineJournalism.com

    Friday, Nov. 14:
  • Thumbnails | Slide show
  • Saturday, Nov. 15:
  • Thumbnails | Slide show
  • Photos by Will Sullivan

    Reactions from conference attendees:

  • It's Over (11/15 11:24 PM)
  • Why Awards Matter (11/15 10:24 PM)
  • Thanks ONA from Journalnow.com! (11/15 10:22 PM)
  • Predictions for the future (11/15 10:14 PM)
  • This is Great, Let's Expand (11/15 09:18 PM)
  • A welcome military perspective (11/15 09:01 PM)
  • Impressions (11/15 08:41 PM)
  • Dinner Discussion (response) (11/15 08:29 PM)
  • Choice quotes (11/15 08:28 PM)
  • Dinner discussion (11/15 08:05 PM)

    ONA in the news
  • Video Killed the Text-News Star (Editor & Publisher, 11/17/03)
  • Trib's Jack Fuller: Time to Pay the Piper (PaidContent.org, 11/14/03)
  • Words Flowing Out of Chicago's ONA Conference (E-Media Tidbits, 11/14/03)
  • Student Web site gains national recognition (Anchorage Daily News, 10/26/03)

    About this site
    A team of 14 student journalists produced the content on this site. Their work was edited by new media professionals and academics.